top of page

My favorite lifehack for creating a weekmenu


How to meal prep for a week
Week menu planning during breakfast :)

This is definitely one of my favorite lifehacks! One of the biggest excuses I hear when it comes to eating healthier is that people don't have time or don't know what to eat. I personally love food and I want to feel and look good so I want to eat healthy and delicious. So here is what I do. I have my breakfast and while I am eating I have a piece of paper on the one site and a recipe magazine from the supermarket on the other side. While I am eating I am going through the magazine and tag my favorites. I then look at the piece of paper where I wrote down all the days with per day a section for breakfast, lunch and diner. I look at my week calendar for the upcoming week and see when I am eating at home, when I need to take lunch with me and so on. I'll go through my the favorites I marked and start scheduling following these guidelines:


1. At the beginning of the week, cook a meal which you can divide up in multiple portion and is easy to take away

2. Look at your week schedule and see when you are going to take this with you or going to eat the leftovers. Schedule these in first.

3. Pick a second meal which you can make in batch and schedule it for the second part of the week.

4. Do the same as 2.

5. Now look at the blanks and decide when you want to have the room to eat out, decide later, etc. Schedule these in also if you already know

6. The rest which are typically lunches I fill with the dishes I mention below. They are nutritious, delicious, super easy to make and take with you.


Tip 1: I typically have a few dishes which I use as quick lunches. These are: buritto bowls or wraps, salads bowls or wraps. You can endlessly vary if you like and they are very easy to prep and to take to work for example.

Tip 2: I don't like wasting time because I have plenty of other stuff I want to focus on. I therefore create templates as I go. If after the week ends I really liked the menu I'll save it so I can use it again. Perfect balance between variety and simplicity.


You might think that I forgot about breakfast but I didn't. You should not have to think about breakfast too much so keep it simple. I have 2-3 dishes which I cycle through but I mostly go to a type of smoothie bowl and a egg-dish. Once in a while I try different variations.


So this it it! I hope you like it and I'd love to hear what you think. Do you have lifehacks of your own? Don't hesitate to share them with me!


Sho

14 views0 comments
bottom of page